Strandkorbkonzert mit Tschejefem, SHMF, 24.08.22
What a great
festival summer!

The 37th Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival can look back on a successful season: around 165,000 tickets were sold for the 203 concerts and events. With a capacity utilization of 84 percent, the festival played 123 venues at 65 locations in Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, southern Denmark and northern Lower Saxony. 114 events were sold out. 

"We are hugely excited about this incredible success, which we would not have dared to dream of just a few months ago. My great thanks go to our audience, who have shown great confidence in us and celebrated a wonderful festival summer together with us. With our Brahms focus, the artist portrait and fresh musical ideas and formats, we experienced outstanding concert moments. I am grateful for this and look forward to the 2023 season with optimism," says Festival Director Dr. Christian Kuhnt.

Composer retrospective: Johannes Brahms 

In more than 85 concerts, the festival presented a comprehensive and diverse look at the work of Johannes Brahms. Among others, his great symphonies, solo concertos, string quartets, the "Hungarian Dances", but also lesser-known works could be experienced. In addition to the original works, the focus was also on modern adaptations of his music: ensembles such as the Jazzrausch Bigband, the SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Musicbanda Franui, Uwaga!, Wildes Holz and the singer Lia Pale, among others, developed a current and exciting approach to the works of Johannes Brahms. Prominent actors and actresses such as Martina Gedeck, Axel Milberg and Christian Brückner also dealt with the composer's life and work in musical readings. The composer retrospective also included a series of concerts entitled "Inside Brahms. In the former Gängeviertel of Hamburg's Neustadt district, where Johannes Brahms grew up, Viennese clarinettist Matthias Schorn curated six concerts that spanned an interesting musical-biographical arc. The program included music by Brahms as well as pieces by Astor Piazzolla, Ray Charles and the Beatles.

Johannes Brahms marks the end of the SHMF series of composer retrospectives, which since 2014 has been devoted to Felix Mendelssohn, Maurice Ravel, Carl Nielsen and Johann Sebastian Bach, among others. 

Portrait artist Omer Meir Wellber 

This year's portrait artist of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival was the Israeli musician Omer Meir Wellber. He not only appeared on the conductor's podium, but also performed as a soloist on accordion, harpsichord and grand piano. As part of his artist portrait, which was themed "Friendship", he put together a very lively and varied program with a total of 14 concerts. Among them were large symphonic works, chamber music, chansons, a melodrama and a four-hands piano recital. He conducted the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, the string ensemble of the Vienna Volksoper and also led a working period of the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra. His concerts have also featured many of his musical friends, including Israeli mandolinist Jacob Reuven, pianists Fazıl Say and Daniel Ciobanu, violist Amihai Grosz, cellist Steven Isserlis, soprano Einat Aronstein, and actors Dominique Horwitz and Isabel Karajan. 

Academies and prizes 

This year, the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra was made up of around 110 young musicians from 32 nations. At the conductor's podium were SHMF Portrait Artist Omer Meir Wellber, Holly Hyun Choe, Krzysztof Urbański, Ludwig Wicki and Christoph Eschenbach, Principal Conductor of the Festival Orchestra. The program of the total of eleven concerts included the Double Concerto for Violin and Violoncello by Johannes Brahms, "Le Sacre du Printemps" by Igor Stravinsky, and the film concert "STAR WARS - The Empire Strikes Back". A guest performance took the young musicians to the Rheingau Music Festival.

The Schleswig-Holstein Festival Choir, under the direction of Choir Director Nicolas Fink, dedicated itself to the work "Ein deutsches Requiem" by Johannes Brahms - in an arrangement for choir, two pianos and timpani - on the occasion of the SHMF composer retrospective. 

The master classes with top-class artists attracted participants from all over the world to the University of Music Lübeck. With The King's Singers, cellist Jens Peter Maintz, mezzo-soprano Brigitte Fassbaender and violinist Donald Weilerstein, first-class pedagogues returned to the SHMF Masterclasses. For the first time, Israeli violist Amihai Grosz offered an instrumental course. Participants also benefited from workshops on performance training, moderation and concentration enhancement. 

In the concert series "Meisterschüler - Meister" this year's master, clarinettist David Orlowsky, brought classical music together with klezmer. With the young talents he worked out Mozart's Clarinet Quintet, works from his own pen as well as other klezmer and tango composers. 

The British composer Hannah Kendall was awarded the Hindemith Prize 2022. The prize has been honoring young contemporary composers for 33 years and is endowed with 20,000 euros. The prize is sponsored by the Fondation Hindemith (Blonay/Switzerland), the Rudolf and Erika Koch Foundation, the Walther and Käthe Busche Foundation and the Gerhard Trede Foundation, the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the State of Schleswig-Holstein.

This year, the Leonard Bernstein Award, endowed with 10,000 euros, went to Scottish guitarist Sean Shibe. The prize, sponsored by the Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe, has been awarded at the SHMF since 2002 and has established itself as a career springboard for young talent in the classical music scene. 

Werftsommer, music festivals in the countryside and Lübeck music festival with Daniel Hope

For the second time, the Werftsommer (Shipyard Summer) took place over a weekend on the industrial grounds of Lübeck's Kulturwerft Gollan, featuring artists and bands from various musical genres. Among them were the powerful-voiced newcomer Zoe Wees, the reggae star Gentleman, the Canadian singer Wendy McNeill, the Jazzrausch Bigband, the pop band Bukahara, the brass band Moop Mama and the singer-songwriter Anna Wydra. 

The music festivals in the countryside invited visitors to some of Schleswig-Holstein's most beautiful estates over five weekends: Hasselburg, Stocksee, Emkendorf, Pronstorf and Wotersen. Established artists as well as young talents provided the varied concert program.

With his Lübeck Music Festival, violin virtuoso Daniel Hope transformed the Hanseatic city into a sounding stage. He performed eleven concerts with musical friends at unusual venues on Lübeck's Old Town Island. This year, Johannes Brahms was at the center of this "festival within a festival".

Thank you

We would like to thank our sponsors and supporters as well as the state of Schleswig-Holstein for their partnership and commitment to good music in the north.

As main sponsors and partners, the Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe (consisting of the Schleswig-Holstein savings banks, Provinzial Nord Brandkasse AG, LBS Bausparkasse Schleswig-Holstein-Hamburg AG, DekaBank and the Sparkassen-Kulturfonds des Deutschen Sparkassen- und Giroverbandes), NordwestLotto Schleswig-Holstein, HanseWerk AG, our mobility partner BMW Group and our media partner NDR make a significant contribution. We would also like to thank the 48 concert sponsors, five product partners and all 49 members of the Business and Music Entrepreneur Initiative. 

The festival would like to thank its generous sponsors ACO Gruppe, Aldra Fenster & Türen GmbH, Stadt Bad Oldesloe, Stadt Bad Schwartau, Claussen-Simon-Stiftung, EUROIMMUN AG, Familie Fielmann, Förderkreis Musik in der Kirche Flemhude, Stadt Kappeln, KIM - Kultur in Marne e.V, Hansestadt Lüneburg, Familie Dr. Hannelore Murmann, Musik in der Stadtkirche zu Glückstadt e.V., City of Neumünster, NORDMETALL Foundation, NORDAKADEMIE Foundation, Georg Plate Foundation, Possehl Foundation, Municipality of Rellingen, Oscar and Vera Ritter Foundation, Sønderborg Municipality, Founders of the Festival Orchestra, Foundations of Sparkasse Holstein, Mathias Tantau Foundation, Alfred Toepfer Foundation F.V.S., Herbert Voigt GmbH & Co. KG, Weiland Kulturstiftung Henning Hamkens and ZEIT Stiftung Gerd und Ebelin Bucerius. We would also like to thank the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, INITIATIVE MUSIK gGmbH and NEUSTART KULTUR. 

The Festival Association would like to thank the now approximately 300 volunteer advisory board members and its 7,900 members. With enormous commitment and specially acquired donations, they all provide for the physical well-being of the artists from all over the world.

Media partner NDR

NDR accompanied the SHMF again this year as a reliable media partner. The "Schleswig-Holstein Magazin" regularly reported on the highlights and central events of the music summer. The program "Schleswig-Holstein 18:00" was also dedicated to the SHMF, among other things. A comprehensive overview of the program, concerts and stars, exclusive photos and background information is also available online at ndr.de/sh. In addition, there were regular reports on the SHMF in the radio programs NDR Kultur, NDR Info and NDR 90,3 as well as on NDR 1 Welle Nord, here also Monday to Friday in "Von Binnenland und Waterkant" between 7 and 9 pm. NDR Fernsehen produced live for 3Sat the opening concert of the SHMF with the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra conducted by Alan Gilbert. NDR Kultur also broadcast the SHMF opening concert live on the radio and also broadcast a large number of other concerts covering the entire musical spectrum of the SHMF program. In addition, there were many artist portraits and concert reports also in other formats of NDR television. 


Next year's festival program will be published on February 23, 2023.

Strandkorbkonzert mit Tschejefem, SHMF, 24.08.22
Bilanz eines erfolgreichen
Festivalsommers

Das 37. Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival blickt auf eine erfolgreiche Saison zurück: Für die 203 Konzerte und Veranstaltungen wurden rund 165.000 Karten verkauft. Mit einer Auslastung von 84 Prozent bespielte das Festival 123 Spielstätten an 65 Orten in Schleswig-Holstein, Hamburg, Süddänemark und dem nördlichen Niedersachsen. 114 Veranstaltungen waren ausverkauft. 

»Wir freuen uns riesig über diesen unglaublichen Erfolg, von dem wir noch vor wenigen Monaten nicht zu träumen gewagt hätten. Mein großer Dank gilt unserem Publikum, das uns großes Vertrauen entgegengebracht und gemeinsam mit uns einen wunderbaren Festivalsommer gefeiert hat. Mit unserem Brahms-Schwerpunkt, dem Künstlerporträt und frischen musikalischen Ideen und Formaten waren herausragende Konzertmomente zu erleben. Ich bin dankbar dafür und blicke der Saison 2023 optimistisch entgegen«, so Festivalintendant Dr. Christian Kuhnt.

Komponisten-Retrospektive: Johannes Brahms 

In mehr als 85 Konzerten präsentierte das Festival einen umfassenden und vielfältigen Blick auf das Werk von Johannes Brahms. Zu erleben waren u.a. seine großen Sinfonien, Solokonzerte, Streichquartette, die »Ungarischen Tänze«, aber auch unbekanntere Werke. Neben den Originalwerken standen auch moderne Adaptionen seiner Musik im Fokus: So entwickelten unter anderem Ensembles wie die Jazzrausch Bigband, das SIGNUM saxophone quartet, Musicbanda Franui, Uwaga!, Wildes Holz und die Sängerin Lia Pale einen aktuellen und spannenden Zugang zu den Werken von Johannes Brahms. Mit dem Leben und Schaffen des Komponisten beschäftigten sich in musikalischen Lesungen auch prominente Schauspielerinnen und Schauspieler wie Martina Gedeck, Axel Milberg und Christian Brückner. Im Rahmen der Komponisten-Retrospektive gab es auch eine eigene Konzertreihe unter dem Titel »Inside Brahms« zu erleben. Im ehemaligen Gängeviertel der Hamburger Neustadt, in dem Johannes Brahms aufwuchs, kuratierte der Wiener Klarinettist Matthias Schorn sechs Konzerte, die einen interessanten musikalisch-biografischen Bogen spannten. Auf dem Programm standen neben der Musik von Brahms auch Stücke von Astor Piazzolla, Ray Charles und den Beatles.

Mit Johannes Brahms endet die SHMF-Reihe der Komponisten-Retrospektiven, die sich seit 2014 unter anderem Felix Mendelssohn, Maurice Ravel, Carl Nielsen und Johann Sebastian Bach widmete. 

Porträtkünstler Omer Meir Wellber 

Der diesjährige Porträtkünstler des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival war der israelische Musiker Omer Meir Wellber. Er war nicht nur am Dirigentenpult zu erleben, sondern trat auch als Solist am Akkordeon, Cembalo und Flügel auf. Im Rahmen seines Künstlerporträts, das unter das Motto »Freundschaft« stand, hat er ein sehr lebhaftes und abwechslungsreiches Programm mit insgesamt 14 Konzerten zusammengestellt. Darunter waren große sinfonische Werke, Kammermusik, Chansons, ein Melodram und ein vierhändiger Klavierabend. Er dirigierte das BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, das Streicherensemble der Volksoper Wien und leitete auch eine Arbeitsphase des Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra. Bei seinen Konzerten waren auch viele seiner musikalischen Freundinnen und Freunde zu erleben, wie der israelische Mandolinist Jacob Reuven, die Pianisten Fazıl Say und Daniel Ciobanu, der Bratschist Amihai Grosz, der Cellist Steven Isserlis, die Sopranistin Einat Aronstein sowie die Schauspieler Dominique Horwitz und Isabel Karajan. 

Akademien und Preise 

Das Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra setzte sich in diesem Jahr aus rund 110 jungen Musikerinnen und Musikern aus 32 Nationen zusammen. Am Dirigentenpult waren der SHMF-Porträtkünstler Omer Meir Wellber, Holly Hyun Choe, Krzysztof Urbański, Ludwig Wicki und Christoph Eschenbach, Principal Conductor des Festivalorchesters, zu Gast. Auf dem Programm der insgesamt elf Konzerte standen unter anderem das Doppelkonzert für Violine und Violoncello von Johannes Brahms, »Le Sacre du Printemps« von Igor Strawinsky sowie das Filmkonzert »STAR WARS – Das Imperium schlägt zurück«. Ein Gastspiel führte die jungen Musikerinnen und Musiker zum Rheingau Musik Festival.

Der Schleswig-Holstein Festival Chor widmete sich unter der Leitung von Chordirektor Nicolas Fink anlässlich der SHMF-Komponisten-Retrospektive dem Werk »Ein deutsches Requiem« von Johannes Brahms – in einer Bearbeitung für Chor, zwei Klaviere und Pauke. 

Die Masterclasses mit hochkarätigen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern lockten die Teilnehmenden aus aller Welt in die Musikhochschule Lübeck. Mit The King’s Singers, dem Cellisten Jens Peter Maintz, der Mezzosopranistin Brigitte Fassbaender und dem Geiger Donald Weilerstein kehrten erstklassige Pädagogen zu den SHMF-Masterclasses zurück. Erstmals hat der israelische Bratschist Amihai Grosz einen Instrumentalkurs angeboten. Die Teilnehmenden profitierten außerdem von Workshops rund um Auftrittstraining, Moderation und Konzentrationsstärkung. 

In der Konzertreihe »Meisterschüler – Meister« brachte der diesjährige Meister, der Klarinettist David Orlowsky, klassische Musik mit Klezmer zusammen. Mit den Nachwuchstalenten erarbeitete er Mozarts Klarinettenquintett, Werke aus eigener Feder sowie weiterer Klezmer- und Tango-Komponisten. 

Die britische Komponistin Hannah Kendall wurde mit dem Hindemith-Preis 2022 ausgezeichnet. Der Preis ehrt seit 33 Jahren junge zeitgenössische Komponistinnen und Komponisten und ist mit 20.000 Euro dotiert. Gestiftet wird der Preis von der Fondation Hindemith (Blonay/Schweiz), der Rudolf und Erika Koch-Stiftung, der Walther und Käthe Busche-Stiftung sowie der Gerhard Trede-Stiftung, der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg und dem Land Schleswig-Holstein.

Den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Leonard Bernstein Award erhielt in diesem Jahr der schottische Gitarrist Sean Shibe. Der von der Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe gestiftete Preis wird seit 2002 im Rahmen des SHMF verliehen und hat sich als Karrieresprungbrett für junge Talente in der Klassikszene etabliert. 

Werftsommer, Musikfeste auf dem Lande und Lübeck-Musikfest mit Daniel Hope

Zum zweiten Mal fand an einem Wochenende auf dem Industriegelände der Lübecker Kulturwerft Gollan der Werftsommer mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern sowie Bands aus verschiedenen Musikrichtungen statt. Mit dabei waren die stimmgewaltige Newcomerin Zoe Wees, der Reggae-Star Gentleman, die kanadische Sängerin Wendy McNeill, die Jazzrausch Bigband, die Pop-Band Bukahara, die Brassband Moop Mama und die Singer-Songwriterin Anna Wydra. 

Die Musikfeste auf dem Lande luden die Besucherinnen und Besucher an fünf Wochenenden auf einige der schönsten Gutsanlagen Schleswig-Holsteins: Hasselburg, Stocksee, Emkendorf, Pronstorf und Wotersen. Für das abwechslungsreiche Konzertprogramm sorgten etablierte Künstlerinnen und Künstler sowie junge Talente.

Der Geigenvirtuose Daniel Hope verwandelte mit seinem Lübeck-Musikfest die Hansestadt in eine klingende Bühne. In elf Konzerten war er mit musikalischen Freunden an außergewöhnlichen Spielstätten auf der Lübecker Altstadtinsel zu erleben. In diesem Jahr stand Johannes Brahms im Zentrum dieses »Festivals im Festival«.


Danke

Wir danken unseren Sponsoren und Förderern sowie dem Land Schleswig-Holstein für den partnerschaftlichen Zusammenhalt und das Engagement für gute Musik im Norden.

Als Hauptsponsoren und Partner leisten die Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe (bestehend aus den schleswig-holsteinischen Sparkassen, der Provinzial Nord Brandkasse AG, der LBS Bausparkasse Schleswig-Holstein-Hamburg AG, der DekaBank und dem Sparkassen-Kulturfonds des Deutschen Sparkassen- und Giroverbandes), NordwestLotto Schleswig-Holstein, die HanseWerk AG, unser Mobilitätspartner BMW Group sowie unser Medienpartner NDR einen bedeutenden Beitrag. Unser Dank gilt darüber hinaus den 48 Konzertsponsoren, fünf Produktpartnern und allen 49 Mitgliedern der Unternehmerinitiative Wirtschaft und Musik. 

Das Festival dankt seinen großzügigen Förderern ACO Gruppe, Aldra Fenster & Türen GmbH, Stadt Bad Oldesloe, Stadt Bad Schwartau, Claussen-Simon-Stiftung, EUROIMMUN AG, Familie Fielmann, Förderkreis Musik in der Kirche Flemhude, Stadt Kappeln, KIM – Kultur in Marne e.V, Hansestadt Lüneburg, Familie Dr. Hannelore Murmann, Musik in der Stadtkirche zu Glückstadt e.V., Stadt Neumünster, NORDMETALL-Stiftung, NORDAKADEMIE Stiftung, Georg-Plate-Stiftung, Possehl-Stiftung, Gemeinde Rellingen, Oscar und Vera Ritter-Stiftung, Sønderborg Kommune, Stifterkreis des Festivalorchesters, Stiftungen der Sparkasse Holstein, Mathias-Tantau-Stiftung, Alfred Toepfer Stiftung F.V.S., Herbert Voigt GmbH & Co. KG, Weiland Kulturstiftung Henning Hamkens sowie ZEIT Stiftung Gerd und Ebelin Bucerius. Ein großer Dank gilt außerdem der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien, der INITIATIVE MUSIK gGmbH und NEUSTART KULTUR. 

Der Festivalverein dankt den mittlerweile rund 300 ehrenamtlichen Beiräten und seinen 7.900 Mitgliedern. Sie alle sorgen mit enormem Engagement und eigens akquirierten Spenden für das leibliche Wohl der Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus aller Welt.


Medienpartner NDR

Der NDR begleitete das SHMF auch in diesem Jahr als verlässlicher Medienpartner. Das »Schleswig-Holstein Magazin« berichtete regelmäßig über die Highlights und zentralen Ereignisse des Musiksommers. Auch die Sendung »Schleswig-Holstein 18:00« widmete sich unter anderem dem SHMF. Einen umfangreichen Überblick über das Programm, Konzerte und Stars, exklusive Fotos und Hintergründe gibt es auch im Onlineangebot auf ndr.de/sh. Zudem gab es regelmäßige Berichte zum SHMF in den Radioprogrammen NDR Kultur, NDR Info und NDR 90,3 sowie auf NDR 1 Welle Nord, hier auch montags bis freitags in »Von Binnenland und Waterkant« zwischen 19 und 21 Uhr. Das NDR Fernsehen produzierte live für 3Sat das Eröffnungskonzert des SHMF mit dem NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester unter der Leitung von Alan Gilbert. Auch NDR Kultur übertrug den SHMF-Auftakt live im Radio und sendete darüber hinaus eine Vielzahl weiterer Konzerte, die das gesamte musikalische Spektrum des SHMF-Programms abbilden. Dazu gab es viele Künstlerporträts und Konzertberichte auch in anderen Formaten des NDR Fernsehens. 

 

Das Festivalprogramm des kommenden Jahres wird am 23. Februar 2023 veröffentlicht.