Registration is open for the auditions of the Festival Orchestra 2020

Just a few weeks ago the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra presented Gustav Mahler's Symphony No. 6 on the stage of the Elbphilharmonie – a brilliant finale to a total of 14 concerts during the 2019 festival season. Now the application phase for the coming year begins.

Since its foundation in 1987, the orchestra, which is reassembled every year, has enjoyed an excellent reputation. In auditions in 30 cities around the world from December to February, the 120 best applicants will be selected from among all those aged 26 or younger. The musicians receive a scholarship that includes their trip to Schleswig-Holstein and their stay at the Nordkolleg Rendsburg during the festival season from the beginning of July to the end of August, as well as intensive rehearsals and concerts with renowned international conductors. Rehearsals will take place in the ACO Thormannhalle on the NordArt grounds in Rendsburg-Büdelsdorf.

Under the direction of Christoph Eschenbach, Principal Conductor of the orchestra for 16 years, two projects will take place. Eschenbach first works on Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 3 and his large-scale choral work »Te Deum«. The Schleswig-Holstein Festival Choir will also be on stage. In a further working phase, Maestro Eschenbach will work with the festival orchestra on the ballet composition »Romeo and Juliet« by Sergei Prokofjev. The work will be performed at the Leonard Bernstein Award ceremony.

For the first time, the festival orchestra will be joined by three other conductors:

Andris Poga, music director of the Latvian National Orchestra in Riga, was already a guest of the world's major orchestras at the age of 39. Together with the young international musicians, he will prepare the folkloristic Karelia Suite by Jean Sibelius and the 6th Symphony by the Danish composer Carl Nielsen, to which the SHMF's composer retrospective is dedicated in 2020.

The Swiss conductor and composer Ludwig Wicki is an expert on film music and will be performing two film concerts with the orchestra. This continues the tradition of »Movies in concert« at the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra – in recent years the orchestra has accompanied the films West Side Story, E.T. and Harry Potter with live music.

The fifth working phase will be conducted by David Zinman. Under the direction of the US American conductor, a revolutionary recording of all Beethoven symphonies was made at the end of the 1990s. And now, together with the festival orchestra, he is also making a contribution to Beethoven's anniversary year 2020: his Symphony No. 6 – the »Pastorale« – and the Triple Concerto for piano, violin, cello and orchestra are on the programme. The latter work also features a soloist trio of former Leonard Bernstein Award winners on stage.

More information and registration for the auditions

Probespiele für das Festivalorchester 2020

Vor wenigen Wochen noch präsentierte das Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra auf der Bühne der Elbphilharmonie die Sinfonie Nr. 6 von Gustav Mahler – und setzte damit einen fulminanten Schlusspunkt unter insgesamt 14 Konzerte im Rahmen der Festivalsaison 2019. Nun startet die Bewerbungsphase für das kommende Jahr.

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1987 genießt das Orchester, das jedes Jahr neu zusammengesetzt wird, einen ausgezeichneten Ruf. In Probespielen in 30 Städten weltweit werden von Dezember bis Februar unter allen maximal 26 Jahre alten Bewerbern die rund 120 besten ausgewählt. Die Musiker erhalten ein Stipendium, das ihre Reise nach Schleswig-Holstein und ihren Aufenthalt im Nordkolleg Rendsburg während der Festivalsaison von Anfang Juli bis Ende August einschließt, genau wie die intensive Probenarbeit und Konzerte mit renommierten internationalen Dirigenten. Geprobt wird in der ACO Thormannhalle auf dem Gelände der NordArt in Rendsburg-Büdelsdorf.

Unter der Leitung von Christoph Eschenbach, seit 16 Jahren Principal Conductor des Orchesters, finden zwei Probenphasen statt. Eschenbach widmet sich zunächst Anton Bruckners Sinfonie Nr. 3 sowie dessen großangelegtem Chorwerk »Te Deum«. Dabei steht außerdem der Schleswig-Holstein Festival Chor auf der Bühne. In einer weiteren Arbeitsphase erarbeitet Maestro Eschenbach mit dem Festivalorchester die Ballettkomposition »Romeo und Julia« von Sergei Prokofjev. Das Werk kommt unter anderem bei der Verleihung des Leonard Bernstein Award zur Aufführung.

Erstmals auf das Festivalorchester treffen drei weitere Dirigenten, die jeweils eine eigene Arbeitsphase gestalten:

Andris Poga, Musikdirektor des Lettischen Nationalorchesters in Riga, war mit seinen 39 Jahren bereits bei den großen Orchestern der Welt zu Gast. Gemeinsam mit den jungen internationalen Musikern erarbeitet er die folkloristische Karelia-Suite von Jean Sibelius sowie die 6. Sinfonie des dänischen Komponisten Carl Nielsen, dem 2020 die Komponisten-Retrospektive des SHMF gewidmet ist.

Der Schweizer Dirigent und Komponist Ludwig Wicki ist Experte für Filmmusik und gestaltet mit dem Orchester zwei Filmkonzerte. Damit setzt sich die Tradition der »Movies in concert« beim Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra fort – in den vergangenen Jahren wurden von diesem Klangkörper die Filme West Side Story, E.T. und Harry Potter mit Live-Musik begleitet.

Die fünfte Arbeitsphase gestaltet David Zinman. Unter der Leitung des US-amerikanischen Dirigenten entstand Ende der 90er Jahren eine wegweisende Einspielung aller Beethoven-Sinfonien. Und auch nun leistet er gemeinsam mit dem Festivalorchester einen Beitrag zum Beethoven Jubiläumsjahr 2020: Auf dem Programm stehen seine Sinfonie Nr. 6 – die »Pastorale« – und das Tripelkonzert für Klavier, Violine, Violoncello und Orchester. Bei letzterem Werk ist außerdem ein Solistentrio aus ehemaligen Preisträgern des Leonard Bernstein Award auf der Bühne zu erleben.

Weitere Informationen