Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra 2022: Registration is open now!

Foto: © Olaf Malzahn

After the corona-related break last year, 90 young talents from all over the world came together again this year at the Nordkolleg Rendsburg to form the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra (SHFO) and work on a total of nine concerts with great conductors. The application phase for the festival summer 2022 is now starting, and registration is now open

Since its foundation in 1987, the orchestra, which is newly formed every year, has enjoyed an excellent reputation. In auditions in 30 cities worldwide from December to February, the approximately 120 best are selected from all applicants aged 26 or under. The musicians receive a scholarship that includes their trip to Schleswig-Holstein and their stay at the Nordkolleg Rendsburg during the festival season from the beginning of July to the end of August, as well as intensive work with renowned international conductors. Rehearsals take place in the ACO Thormannhalle on the grounds of NordArt in Rendsburg-Büdelsdorf.

Adam Fischer, principal conductor of the Danish Chamber Orchestra and the Düsseldorf Symphonic Orchestra, will celebrate his premiere at the SHFO next summer. He is known worldwide for his interpretation of Viennese classical works and will perform, among other works, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's First Flute Concerto with the young musicians of the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra. 

Omer Meir Wellber, Principal Conductor of the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, Principal Guest Conductor of the Semperoper and designated Music Director at the Volksoper Wien, is also a guest of the Festival Orchestra for the first time. He will work with the orchestra on the Double Concerto for Violin and Violoncello by Johannes Brahms and thus honour the composer retrospective of the SHMF 2022.

In addition, Ludwig Wicki, a specialist in film music, will take the SHFO's podium for the first time. He will continue the tradition of "Movies in concert" and present another film classic with live music. In previous years, the festival orchestra accompanied "The Kid", "Harry Potter - Philosopher's Stone" and "E.T." with live music.

For the fourth time, the Polish conductor Krzysztof Urbański, frequent guest conductor with ensembles such as the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra and winner of the Leonard Bernstein Award, will be a guest of the Festival Orchestra. Igor Stravinsky's famous ballet "Le Sacre du Printemps" will be performed under his direction.

Christoph Eschenbach, Principal Conductor of the orchestra since 2004 and also Chief Conductor of the Konzerthausorchester Berlin, will also lead a work phase in the coming year that will focus on Anton Bruckner's Symphony No. 5.

The SHMF's indispensable music education activities are generously supported by the Possehl Foundation, the Dr. Hannelore Murmann family, Fielmann AG, the Oscar and Vera Ritter Foundation, the Mathias Tantau Foundation, the ZEIT Foundation Gerd and Ebelin Bucerius, the Weiland Cultural Foundation Henning Hamkens, the Nordkolleg Rendsburg, the ACO Group and the Festival Orchestra's circle of benefactors.

Diese Dirigenten sind zu Gast beim Festivalorchester 2022

Foto: © Olaf Malzahn

Nach der coronabedingten Pause im vergangenen Jahr kamen in diesem Jahr wieder 90 junge Talente aus aller Welt im Nordkolleg Rendsburg zusammen, um das Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra (SHFO) zu bilden und mit großen Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten insgesamt neun Konzerte zu erarbeiten. Nun startet die Bewerbungsphase für den Festivalsommer 2022. Die Anmeldung ist ab sofort hier möglich. 

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1987 genießt das Orchester, das jedes Jahr neu gebildet wird, einen ausgezeichneten Ruf. In Probespielen in 30 Städten weltweit werden von Dezember bis Februar unter allen höchstens 26 Jahre alten Bewerbern die rund 120 besten ausgewählt. Die Musikerinnen und Musiker erhalten ein Stipendium, das ihre Reise nach Schleswig-Holstein und ihren Aufenthalt im Nordkolleg Rendsburg während der Festivalsaison von Anfang Juli bis Ende August einschließt, genau wie die intensive Arbeit mit renommierten internationalen Dirigenten. Geprobt wird in der ACO Thormannhalle auf dem Gelände der NordArt in Rendsburg-Büdelsdorf.

Seine Premiere beim SHFO feiert im nächsten Sommer Adam Fischer, Chefdirigent des Danish Chamber Orchestra und der Düsseldorfer Symphoniker. Er ist weltweit für seine Interpretation von Werken der Wiener Klassik bekannt und wird mit den jungen Musikerinnen und Musikern des Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra unter anderem das erste Flötenkonzert von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart aufführen. 

Omer Meir Wellber, Chefdirigent des BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, Erster Gastdirigent der Semperoper sowie designierter Musikdirektor an der Volksoper Wien, ist ebenfalls zum ersten Mal beim Festivalorchester zu Gast. Er erarbeitet mit dem Klangkörper das Doppelkonzert für Violine und Violoncello von Johannes Brahms und würdigt damit die Komponisten-Retrospektive des SHMF 2022.

Außerdem steht Ludwig Wicki, Spezialist im Bereich der Filmmusik, erstmals am Pult des SHFO. Er wird die Tradition der »Movies in concert« fortsetzen und einen weiteren Filmklassiker mit Live-Musik präsentieren. In den vergangenen Jahren wurden vom Festivalorchester unter anderem »The Kid«, »Harry Potter – Der Stein der Weisen« und »E.T.« mit Live-Musik begleitet.

Zum vierten Mal ist der polnische Dirigent Krzysztof Urbański, häufiger Gastdirigent bei Ensembles wie dem NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchester und Preisträger des Leonard Bernstein Award, zu Gast beim Festivalorchester. Unter seiner Leitung wird Igor Strawinskys berühmtes Ballett »Le Sacre du Printemps« erklingen.

Christoph Eschenbach, seit 2004 Principal Conductor des Orchesters und außerdem Chefdirigent des Konzerthausorchesters Berlin, leitet auch im kommenden Jahr eine Arbeitsphase, bei der Anton Bruckners Sinfonie Nr. 5 im Mittelpunkt steht.

Die unverzichtbaren musikpädagogischen Aktivitäten des SHMF werden von der Possehl-Stiftung, der Familie Dr. Hannelore Murmann, der Fielmann AG, der Oscar und Vera Ritter-Stiftung, der Mathias-Tantau-Stiftung, der ZEIT Stiftung Gerd und Ebelin Bucerius, der Weiland Kulturstiftung Henning Hamkens, dem Nordkolleg Rendsburg, der ACO Gruppe sowie dem Stifterkreis des Festivalorchesters großzügig unterstützt.