Civitella Ranieri 2021
Hindemith-Prize 2022
for Hannah Kendall!

The Hindemith Prize, worth 20,000 euros, is awarded to outstanding contemporary composers as part of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. This year, it will go to a British woman for whom a career in music was initially unthinkable.

Hannah Kendall is currently doing her doctorate in composition at Columbia University in New York. At the age of seven, she was already listening to baroque music and playing the violin and piano. For a long time, composing herself did not occur to her - after all, according to her own statement, the British woman with South American-Caribbean roots was not aware of any “black composers” as role models. Nevertheless, in her twenties she decided to study composition. Since then, Hannah Kendall has been able to make a name for herself with her works, especially in her home country, Great Britain. Her orchestral piece “The Spark Catchers” was premiered at the Royal Albert Hall in 2017. She has composed the chamber opera “The Knife of Dawn”, choral works and the dance piece “Labyrinthine”.

The 33rd Hindemith Prize winner convinced the jury with her broad compositional spectrum and expressive style: "Hannah Kendall displays enormous compositional diversity, ranging from classical heritage to experimental ideas. The richness of sound she creates with seemingly playful ease, her clear structure, energy and lack of compromise have inspired us unreservedly. I am very pleased that Hannah Kendall will enrich the SHMF next summer as a Hindemith Prize winner," said Dr. Christian Kuhnt, artistic director of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, explaining the decision of the jury.

Hannah Kendall was overwhelmed by the honor: “To have my music recognized in this way means everything. I will most likely spend the award on developing pieces that I hope will take my practice in new directions. Music that I am working on in-between commissions that I am very excited about, but am having to fund myself.” The program of her prize-winner’s concert includes her own works as well as the premiere of a work commissioned by the SHMF from Mithatcan Öcal, the 2021 Hindemith Prize winner.

Paul Hindemith was committed to young musicians and was particularly known for his music education work. In his spirit, the Hindemith Prize promotes outstanding young, contemporary composers. Since 1990, the prize has been awarded as part of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival. It is sponsored by the Hindemith Foundation (Blonay/Switzerland), the Rudolf and Erika Koch Foundation, the Walther and Käthe Busche Foundation and the Gerhard Trede Foundation, the City of Hamburg and the State of Schleswig-Holstein. The prizewinners of recent years include Matthias Pintscher (2000), Thomas Adès (2001), Jörg Widmann (2002), Lera Auerbach (2005), Anna Clyne (2016), Samy Moussa (2017), SJ Hanke (2020) and Mithatcan Öcal (2021).

The jury consists of Prof. Dr. Andreas Eckhardt (Fondation Hindemith), the Minister of Culture of the State of Schleswig-Holstein Karin Prien, Dr. Christian Kuhnt (SHMF), Prof. Elmar Lampson (Gerhard Trede Foundation and College of Music and Dance Hamburg), Dr. Astrid Bernicke (Hamburg Ministry of Culture and Media) and Prof. Rico Gubler (College of Music Lübeck).

 

Biography

Hannah Kendall completed a Master’s degree in Advanced Composition at the Royal College of Music with Kenneth Hesketh, supported by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, the Royal College of Music Study Award and the RVW Trust. She has worked with orchestras including the BBC Symphony Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Modern, London Sinfonietta, Riot Ensemble and The Hallé Orchestra. Hannah Kendall currently lives in New York and is pursuing a PhD in composition at Columbia University.

Award-Winning ceremony and concert
Pieces by Mithatcan Öcal und Hannah Kendall
Mo, 22 August 2022 | 7.30pm | Rendsburg-Büdelsdorf, NordArt, ACO Wagenremise

Tickets are available from 25 February 2022.

 

Hannah Kendall on her piece "Baptistry":

External content

At this point you will find external content that complements the article. You can display it with one click.
External content
I agree to be shown external content and accept all cookies from this website. This means that personal data can be transferred to third-party platforms. More about this in our Privacy policy and Cookie declaration.

Civitella Ranieri 2021
Der Hindemith-Preis 2022
geht an Hannah Kendall!

Der mit 20.000 Euro dotierte Hindemith-Preis zeichnet im Rahmen des SHMF herausragende zeitgenössische Komponistinnen und Komponisten aus. In diesem Jahr geht er an eine Britin, für die eine Musikkarriere zunächst undenkbar war.

Hannah Kendall promoviert aktuell im Fach Komposition an der Columbia University in New York. Bereits als Siebenjährige hörte sie Barockmusik, spielte Geige und Klavier. Eigene Kompositionen kamen ihr lange nicht in den Sinn – schließlich waren der Britin mit südamerikanisch-karibischen Wurzeln nach eigener Aussage keine »black composers« als Vorbilder bekannt. In ihren Zwanzigern fiel dennoch die Entscheidung für das Kompositionsstudium. Seither konnte sich Hannah Kendall insbesondere in ihrer Heimat Großbritannien mit ihren Arbeiten einen Namen machen. So wurde ihr Orchesterstück »The Spark Catchers« 2017 in der Royal Albert Hall uraufgeführt. Sie komponierte die Kammeroper »The Knife of Dawn«, Chorwerke und das Tanzstück »Labyrinthine«.

Die 33. Hindemith-Preisträgerin überzeugte die Jury mit ihrem breiten kompositorischen Spektrum und einem expressiven Stil: »Hannah Kendall zeigt eine enorme kompositorische Vielfalt, die von klassischem Erbe bis hin zu experimentellen Ideen reicht. Die Klangfülle, die sie mit scheinbar spielerischer Leichtigkeit kreiert, ihre klare Struktur, ihre Energie und Kompromisslosigkeit haben uns vorbehaltlos begeistert. Ich freue mich sehr, dass Hannah Kendall als Hindemith-Preisträgerin das SHMF im kommenden Sommer bereichern wird!«, begründet Dr. Christian Kuhnt, Intendant des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, die Entscheidung.

Hannah Kendall zeigte sich überwältigt von der Ehrung: »Dass meine Musik auf diese Weise gesehen und ausgezeichnet wird, bedeutet mir alles. Das Preisgeld möchte ich nutzen, um meine Kompositionspraxis weiter voranzutreiben – in weitere neue, hochspannende Richtungen!« Auf dem Programm ihres Preisträgerkonzerts stehen eigene Werke sowie die Uraufführung eines Auftragswerks für das SHMF von Mithatcan Öcal, dem Hindemith-Preisträger 2021.

Paul Hindemith setzte sich für den musikalischen Nachwuchs ein und war insbesondere bekannt für sein musikpädagogisches Wirken. In seinem Sinne fördert der Hindemith-Preis herausragende junge, zeitgenössische Komponistinnen und Komponisten. Seit 1990 wird der Preis im Rahmen des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival verliehen. Gestiftet wird er von der Hindemith-Stiftung (Blonay/Schweiz), der Rudolf und Erika Koch-Stiftung, der Walther und Käthe Busche-Stiftung und Gerhard Trede-Stiftung, der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg und dem Land Schleswig-Holstein. Zu den Preisträgerinnen und Preisträgern der letzten Jahre zählen Matthias Pintscher (2000), Thomas Adès (2001), Jörg Widmann (2002), Lera Auerbach (2005), Anna Clyne (2016), Samy Moussa (2017), SJ Hanke (2020) und Mithatcan Öcal (2021).

Die Jury besteht aus Prof. Dr. Andreas Eckhardt (Fondation Hindemith), der Kultusministerin des Landes Schleswig-Holstein Karin Prien, Dr. Christian Kuhnt (SHMF), Prof. Elmar Lampson (Gerhard Trede Stiftung und HfMT Hamburg), Dr. Astrid Bernicke (Behörde für Kultur und Medien Hamburg) und Prof. Rico Gubler (Musikhochschule Lübeck).

Biografie

Hannah Kendall absolvierte den Masterstudiengang in Advanced Composition am Royal College of Music bei Kenneth Hesketh, unterstützt vom Arts and Humanities Research Council, dem Royal College of Music Study Award und dem RVW Trust. Sie arbeitete bereits mit Orchestern wie dem BBC Symphony Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Ensemble Modern, London Sinfonietta, Riot Ensemble und dem The Hallé-Orchestra zusammen. Hannah Kendall lebt zurzeit in New York und promoviert im Fach Komposition an der Columbia University.

Verleihung des Hindemith-Preis 2022 und Preisträgerkonzert
Werke von Mithatcan Öcal und Hannah Kendall
Mo, 22. August 2022 | 19.30 Uhr | Rendsburg-Büdelsdorf, NordArt, ACO Wagenremise

Tickets sind ab dem Tag der SHMF-Programmpressekonferenz am 25. Februar 2022 bestellbar.

 

Hannah Kendall über ihr Werk »Baptistry«:

Externer Inhalt

An dieser Stelle finden Sie einen externen Inhalt, der den Artikel ergänzt. Sie können ihn sich mit einem Klick anzeigen lassen.
Externer Inhalt
Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir externe Inhalte angezeigt werden und akzeptiere alle Cookies dieser Webseite. Damit können personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt werden. Mehr dazu in unserer Datenschutzerklärung und Cookie-Erklärung.