The fascination for New Music

How can melody, harmony and rhythm be reinterpreted? The Kazakh composer Aigerim Seilova has her own impressive sound ideas. She receives the Hindemith Prize 2019, endowed with 20,000 euros. "Aigerim Seilova captivates with a high level of professionalism in compositional craftsmanship and with an original sound language that combines eruptive tension and calm flow in a fascinating way. She has successfully tested herself in different styles. In doing so, she has developed her own handwriting that treads new paths without denying her musical roots," says Dr. Christian Kuhnt, director of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival and chairman of the jury of the Hindemith Prize. 

The Hindemith Prize will be awarded for the 30th time in 2019 and handed over by Schleswig-Holstein's Minister of Culture Karin Prien on 26 August as part of a prizewinner concert (tickets can be booked online, by post and by fax from 22 February). The programme includes not only works by Seilova, but also by Paul Hindemith, as well as the world premiere of a commissioned work for the SHMF by the 2018 Hindemith Prize winner Clara Iannotta. 

Paul Hindemith was committed to young musicians and was particularly known for his music pedagogical work. In his spirit, the Hindemith Prize promotes outstanding young, contemporary composers. The prize has been awarded at the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival since 1990. It is donated by the Hindemith Foundation (Blonay/Switzerland), the Rudolf and Erika Koch Foundation, the Walther and Käthe Busche Foundation and the Gerhard Trede Foundation, the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the State of Schleswig-Holstein. Prizewinners in recent years include Matthias Pintscher (2000), Thomas Adès (2001), Jörg Widmann (2002), Lera Auerbach (2005), Anna Clyne (2016) and Samy Moussa (2017).

The jury consists of Prof. Dr. Andreas Eckhardt (Fondation Hindemith), the Minister of Culture of Schleswig-Holstein Karin Prien, Dr. Christian Kuhnt (SHMF), Prof. Elmar Lampson (Gerhard Trede Foundation and HfMT Hamburg), Silvia Neumann (Authority for Culture and Media Hamburg), Prof. Rico Gubler (Musikhochschule Lübeck) and Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Hermann Rauhe (Franz Wirth Memory Foundation).