This year we dedicate ourselves to Johannes Brahms!

This year, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival (SHMF) concludes its series of composer retrospectives, which began in 2014, with the Hamburg-born composer and piano virtuoso Johannes Brahms (1833-1897).

Johannes Brahms spent his childhood and youth in northern Germany, and although his adopted home later became the musical metropolis of Vienna, he always remained connected to his roots: In letters to his father, he remembers "Heide better than many a city." He describes Kiel and Düsternbrook as "beautiful" and recommends a longer trip through Schleswig-Holstein, because "it's supposed to be magnificent!"
While Franz Schubert, focus composer in 2021, paved the way for Romanticism, Johannes Brahms led that era to its conclusion - and beyond: his works were groundbreaking for the beginning of Modernism. Both retrospectives thus form a delightful contrast, inviting us to explore musical styles in the mirror of their times.

In the coming festival summer, the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival will present a cross-section of the complete works of Johannes Brahms. The audience will experience his great symphonies as well as his chamber music. In addition, the focus will also be on modern adaptations that allow the work of Johannes Brahms to be experienced in a highly contemporary way.

"'Will you wander on and on? See, the good lies so near,' Goethe says. Johannes Brahms, who comes from northern Germany, has always seemed too close to us in recent years. But now we are dedicating the 2022 Retrospective to him at the end of the composer series. His oeuvre shapes concert programs all over the world. But after intensive discussions, we realized that we can look at Brahms' work and life from new perspectives. In the process, we are discovering entirely new sides and creative explorations of his work, which we will pursue with relish next year," says festival director Dr. Christian Kuhnt.

Special thanks

SHMF 2021 ends its season with a successful balance of 101,000 visitors in total. Both the scope and the richness of the content of the total of around 200 events would not have been conceivable without special funding: The SHMF would like to thank the state of Schleswig-Holstein for its generous support in this second pandemic year. Further thanks go to the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM), to the Initiative Musik, to the special program NEUSTART KULTUR, and to the Gesellschaft für musikalische Aufführungs- und mechanische Vervielfältigungsrechte (GEMA).

Im nächsten Jahr widmen wir uns Johannes Brahms!

Das Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival (SHMF) beschließt die seit 2014 bestehende Reihe der Komponisten-Retrospektiven im kommenden Jahr mit dem in Hamburg geborenen Komponisten und Klaviervirtuosen Johannes Brahms (1833–1897). 

Johannes Brahms verbrachte seine Kindheit und Jugend in Norddeutschland und obwohl seine Wahlheimat später die Musikmetropole Wien wurde, blieb er seinen Wurzeln stets verbunden: In Briefen an seinen Vater weiß er sich »auf Heide besser zu besinnen als auf manche Stadt«. Er bezeichnet Kiel und Düsternbrook als »wunderschön« und empfiehlt eine längere Reise durch Schleswig-Holstein, denn »das soll prächtig sein!«
Während Franz Schubert, Schwerpunktkomponist 2021, den Weg in die Romantik ebnete, führte Johannes Brahms jene Epoche zu ihrem Abschluss – und darüber hinaus: Seine Werke waren wegweisend für den Beginn der Moderne. Beide Retrospektiven bilden somit einen reizvollen Kontrast und laden dazu ein, musikalische Stile im Spiegel ihrer Zeit zu erforschen. 

Das Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival präsentiert im kommenden Festivalsommer einen Querschnitt durch das Gesamtwerk von Johannes Brahms. Das Publikum wird seine großen Sinfonien erleben wie auch seine Kammermusik. Daneben stehen aber auch moderne Adaptionen im Fokus, die das Werk von Johannes Brahms auf hochaktuelle Weise erlebbar machen. 

»›Willst du immer weiter schweifen? Sieh, das Gute liegt so nah‹, heißt es bei Goethe. Der aus Norddeutschland stammende Johannes Brahms schien uns in den letzten Jahren immer zu naheliegend. Doch jetzt widmen wir ihm zum Abschluss der Komponistenreihe die Retrospektive 2022. Sein Œuvre prägt die Konzertprogramme der Welt. Aber nach intensiven Diskussionen bemerkten wir, dass wir aus neuen Perspektiven auf das Schaffen und Leben von Brahms blicken können. Dabei entdecken wir ganz neue Seiten und kreative Auseinandersetzungen mit seinem Werk, denen wir im nächsten Jahr lustvoll nachspüren werden«, sagt Festivalintendant Dr. Christian Kuhnt. 
 
Besonderer Dank
 
Das SHMF 2021 beendet seine Saison mit einer erfolgreichen Bilanz von insgesamt 101.000 Besucherinnen und Besuchern. Sowohl der Umfang als auch der der inhaltliche Facettenreichtum der insgesamt rund 200 Veranstaltungen wäre ohne besondere Förderung nicht denkbar gewesen: Das SHMF dankt dem Land Schleswig-Holstein für die großzügige Unterstützung in diesem zweiten Pandemie-Jahr. Ein weiterer Dank richtet sich an die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM), an die Initiative Musik, an das Sonderprogramm NEUSTART KULTUR, sowie an die Gesellschaft für musikalische Aufführungs- und mechanische Vervielfältigungsrechte (GEMA).