This year's artist portrait:
Omer Meir Wellber

Artist portrait: Omer Meir Wellber

Israeli conductor Omer Meir Wellber is this year’s portrait artist at the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. The 40-year-old is one of the most talented conductors of his generation. Born in the Israeli city of Be'er Scheva, he began piano and accordion lessons at the age of five. Conducting and composition studies in Jerusalem and time as assistant to Daniel Barenboim ultimately led to a stellar career that has included appearances with orchestras like the Filarmonica della Sca-la, the Orchestre de Paris and the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. He is currently Principal Con-ductor of the BBC Philharmonic, Music Director of the Teatro Massimo in Palermo and Principal Guest Conductor of the Semperoper Dresden.

In September 2022, Omer Meir Wellber will take over as conductor at the Volksoper in Vienna. His appearances on SHMF stages include not only the conductor’s podium, but he will also appear as a soloist on the accordion, harpsichord, grand piano and in musical readings – he is currently working on his third book. For his artist portrait, which he placed under the motto Friendship, he has put together a very lively and var-ied program with a total of 14 concerts. These include major symphonic works, chamber music, chansons, a melodrama, a four-hand piano recital and musical readings. He will conduct the BBC Philharmonic, the string ensemble of the Volksoper Wien, and he will also lead a working session with the Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra. Omer Meir Wellber has invited many musical friends to his concerts: Israeli mandolinist Jacob Reuven, pianists Fazıl Say and Daniel Ciobanu, violist Amihai Grosz, cellist Steven Isserlis, soprano Einat Aronstein, and actors Dominique Horwitz and Isabel Karajan.

 

All concerts of Omer Meir Wellber

Omer Meir Wellber im Videoporträt

External content

At this point you will find external content that complements the article. You can display it with one click.
External content
I agree to be shown external content and accept all cookies from this website. This means that personal data can be transferred to third-party platforms. More about this in our Privacy policy and Cookie declaration.

Omer Meir Wellber
ist SHMF-Porträtkünstler

Der israelische Dirigent Omer Meir Wellber ist der diesjährige Porträtkünstler des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. Der 40-Jährige ist einer der talentiertesten Dirigenten seiner Generation. Geboren in der israelischen Großstadt Be’er Scheva, begann er im Alter von fünf Jahren mit Klavier- und Akkordeonunterricht. Auf das Dirigier- und Kompositionsstudium in Jerusalem und die Zeit als Assistent von Daniel Barenboim folgte ein steiler Karrierestart mit Auftritten bei Orchestern wie der Filarmonica della Scala, dem Orchestre de Paris und dem Gewandhausorchester Leipzig. Aktuell ist er Chefdirigent des BBC Philharmonic und Erster Gastdirigent der Semperoper Dresden. Ab September 2022 übernimmt Omer Meir Wellber die Leitung an der Volksoper in Wien.

Auf den SHMF-Bühnen ist er nicht nur am Dirigentenpult zu erleben, sondern tritt auch als Solist am Akkordeon, am Cembalo, am Flügel und in musikalischen Lesungen – aktuell arbeitet er an seinem dritten Buch – auf. Im Rahmen seines Künstlerporträts, das er unter das Motto »Freundschaft« stellt, hat er ein sehr lebhaftes und abwechslungsreiches Programm mit insgesamt 14 Konzerten zusammengestellt. Darunter sind große sinfonische Werke, Kammermusik, Chansons, ein Melodram, ein vierhändiger Klavierabend und musikalische Lesungen. Er wird das BBC Philharmonic, das Streicherensemble der Volksoper Wien und auch eine Arbeitsphase mit dem Schleswig-Holstein Festival Orchestra leiten. Zu seinen Konzerten hat Omer Meir Wellber viele musikalische Freundinnen und Freunde eingeladen: den israelischen Mandolinisten Jacob Reuven, die Pianisten Fazıl Say und Daniel Ciobanu, den Bratschisten Amihai Grosz, den Cellisten Steven Isserlis, die Sopranistin Einat Aronstein sowie die Schauspieler Dominique Horwitz und Isabel Karajan.

Mehr Informationen & Konzertübersicht

Konzerte mit Omer Meir Wellber buchen

Omer Meir Wellber im Videoporträt

Externer Inhalt

An dieser Stelle finden Sie einen externen Inhalt, der den Artikel ergänzt. Sie können ihn sich mit einem Klick anzeigen lassen.
Externer Inhalt
Ich bin damit einverstanden, dass mir externe Inhalte angezeigt werden und akzeptiere alle Cookies dieser Webseite. Damit können personenbezogene Daten an Drittplattformen übermittelt werden. Mehr dazu in unserer Datenschutzerklärung und Cookie-Erklärung.