Do 04.07.2019 | 20 |Hamburg | Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal | K 5

Alisa Weilerstein

Alisa Weilerstein

Alisa Weilerstein, Violoncello

Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal Platz der Deutschen Einheit 1, Hamburg,

Johann Sebastian Bach:
Suites for violoncello solo BWV1007-1012

The history of the Festival reveals that solely the great masters of their field dedicated themselves to the entire series of Six Suites for Violoncello Solo by Bach. Some of their names are illustrious. In 1987, Heinrich Schiff already played three of the suites in one evening, followed in 1990 by Natalia Gutmann with all six suites over the course of two evenings. Truls Mørk as well as David Geringas and Anner Bylsma adopted this model – presenting the entire cycle over two consecutive evenings – in 1997 and 2000, respectively. Alisa Weilerstein, who won the SHMF Leonard Bernstein Award, sponsored by the Sparkassen-Finanzgruppe, in 2006, will now perform the entire cycle in a single evening – and not just anywhere, but in the Great Concert Hall of the Elbphilharmonie. Of course, the American knows what she’s getting herself into. “It demands everything of you emotionally, cerebrally, instrumentally,” she said in 2017 in an interview with The New York Times.  For her, however, playing all six suites in one go is almost like Transcendental Meditation. “At the very end, I am emotionally exhausted, physically exhausted, and my brain is turned to mush — and it’s the most wonderful feeling, a cathartic feeling. I love it.” 

Supported by Entrepreneurial Initiative Economy & Music

Ticket price

49 € / 39 € / 34 € / 29 € / 20