Fr 14.08.2020 | 19:30 |Hamburg | Elbphilharmonie, Kleiner Saal | K 145



Danish Piano Duo

Elbphilharmonie, Kleiner Saal Platz der Deutschen Einheit 1, Hamburg,

Carl Nielsen:
»Orientalischer Festmarsch« aus »Aladdin«
Ludwig van Beethoven:
Sonate D-Dur op. 6
Søren Nils Eichberg:
Neues Werk (Uraufführung)
Franz Schubert:
Fantasie f-Moll D 940
Carl Nielsen:
»Sinfonia espansiva« op. 27 (arrangiert von Carl Nielsen für Klavier zu vier Händen)

An evening full of new discoveries awaits the audience at the Danish Piano Duo concert: Firstly, the two pianists Tanja Zapolski and Rikke Sandberg will premiere a new work by Søren Nils Eichberg. The Danish composer is regarded as one of the most exciting composers in Europe and has already written works for Hilary Hahn and the Mahler Chamber Orchestra. Another revelation, a version of Carl Nielsen’s Third Symphony for four-hand piano will be performed in Germany for the first time. During his lifetime, Nielsen occasionally played this Sinfonia espansiva on the piano at a few private events with his friend, the pianist Henrik Knudsen. After his death in 1931, however, the arrangement wasn’t heard anymore. The two pianists have known each other since their youth and are celebrating 25 years of friendship by rediscovering this version. During their many years of collaboration, they interpreted a wide variety of four-handed works as well as works for two pianos and established themselves as one of the most important Scandinavian piano duos.

Ticket price

39 € / 35 € / 29 € / 23