Mon. 16 Aug. 2021 | 8:00 p.m. | Hamburg | Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal | K 122

Exciting and Innovative!

Patricia Kopatchinskaja
Photo: Marco Borggreve

Patricia Kopatchinskaja, violin
Fazıl Say, piano

Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal Platz der Deutschen Einheit 1, Hamburg,

Franz Schubert:
Sonata for violin and piano in A minor, D 385
Johannes Brahms:
Sonata for piano and violin No. 3 in D minor, Op. 108
Leoš Janáček:
Sonata for violin and piano

Violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja and pianist Fazıl Say – years ago these two exceptional artists found each other to form one of the most exciting and innovative duos in the classical music world. The two can finally be seen together at SHMF this summer. Together, they dedicate themselves to three violin sonatas from three different periods with an exuberant joy of playing and a refreshing desire for discovery, and in doing so also convey an impression of the diversity of this genre, which is as fascinating as it is changeable. At the beginning of their concert, the duo pays tribute to this year’s SHMF spotlight composer Franz Schubert. In his “Sonata for Pianoforte with Violin Accompaniment” in B minor, the two instruments meet as equal partners at eye level – contrary to what the title might suggest. This is followed by the highly virtuosic third violin sonata by the self-confessed Schubert admirer Johannes Brahms and the only surviving sonata for violin and piano by Leoš Janáček, a real concert highlight for all chamber music fans!

Ticket price

74 / € 64 / € 54 / € 44 / € 34