Hindemith Prize 2022 for Hannah Kendall
22 Aug. 2022
Mon. 22 Aug. 20227:30 p.m.Rendsburg Büdelsdorf, ACO ThormannhalleK 179
Mon. 22 Aug. 20227:30 p.m.Rendsburg Büdelsdorf, ACO ThormannhalleK 179

Hindemith Prize 2022 for Hannah Kendall


Louise McMonagle, cello
Anne Denholm, harp
William Overcash, violin
Members of ensemble reflektor
Bar Avni, conductor


Works by Paul Hindemith, Mithatcan Öcal, and Hannah Kendall

Ticket price



Free seating

The Hindemith Prize has been awarded every year since 1990 as part of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. The prize is intended to promote outstanding contemporary composers. The award also commemorates the music education work of Paul Hindemith, who wrote the composition "Plöner Musiktag" in 1932 on behalf of the boarding school Staatliche Bildungsanstalt Plön. Past prize winners include Matthias Pintscher, Jörg Widmann, Anna Clyne, Samy Moussa, Aigerim Seilova and, in 2021, Mithatcan Öcal. The winner of the award also receives a commission from the SHMF to compose a work to be premiered at the following year’s festival. Thus, on this evening, Öcal will premiere his new work “Ein musikalisches Denkmal für Seine Exzellenz Mehmet Ali Uzunselvi”. In 2022, the prestigious prize will go to Hannah Kendall, who was born in London in 1984 to South American-Caribbean parents. She played the violin and piano from an early age, then studied composition at the University of Exeter and the Royal College of Music in New York. Kendall has worked with the London Symphony Orchestra, the Boston Symphony Orchestra, and renowned directors and choreographers.

The Hindemith Foundation (Blonay, Switzerland), the Rudolf and Erika Koch Foundation, the Walther and Käthe Busche Foundation, and the Gerhard Trede Foundation (all three from Hamburg, Germany) as well as the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg and the State of Schleswig-Holstein are sponsors of the prize money of €20,000 and supporters of the musical arrangements.