Prague Symphony Orchestra
Mon. 22 Aug. 20228:00 p.m.Hamburg Elbphilharmonie, Großer SaalK 181
Mon. 22 Aug. 20228:00 p.m.Hamburg Elbphilharmonie, Großer SaalK 181

Prague Symphony Orchestra


Anastasia Kobekina, violoncello
Prague Symphony Orchestra
Tomáš Brauner, conductor


Johannes Brahms:
“Academic Festival Overture” in C minor, Op. 80
Antonín Dvořák:
Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104
Max Bruch:
Symphony No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 28

Ticket price

74 / € 64 / € 54 / € 44 / € 34

Brahms was one of Dvořák’s most important patrons, something the Bohemian did not forgot his entire life. In 1894, when his symphony “From the New World” was already celebrating triumphs, Dvořák commented in a letter to Brahms: “...and many, many other things tell me what an invaluable patron I have in you – and so today I can only say the simple words: Thank you, a heartfelt thank you for all you have done to me and for me!” That same year, Dvořák began composing his Cello Concerto in B minor. Brahms immediately recognized that the work was to become a milestone in the cello literature. In 1897, the year of his death, he had the cellist of the Joachim Quartet, Robert Hausmann, play the work for him and is then said to have remarked meaningfully: “If I had known that such a concerto could be written, I would have written one myself years ago.” The young Russian cellist Anastasia Kobekina will perform the solo on this evening, while the Prague Symphony Orchestra under the baton of its principal conductor Tomáš Brauner will open sonorously with Brahms’ “Academic Festive Overture” before ending the concert with Bruch’s 1st Symphony, which is titled “Dedicated in friendship to Johannes Brahms”.

Sponsored by HOLSTEN-Brauerei AG