Sun. 25 Jul. 2021 | 5:00 p.m. | Emkendorf | Philharmonie im Park, Open Air | K 67

Sol Gabetta

Sol Gabetta

Sol Gabetta, cello
Kammerorchester Basel
Heinz Holliger, conductor

Philharmonie im Park, Open Air Gutshof 3, Emkendorf,

Franz Schubert:
Overture to the Singspiel Die Zwillingsbrüder D 647
Symphony No. 4 in C minor, D 417, “Tragic”
Gabriel Fauré:
Élégie in C minor, Op. 24 for cello and orchestra
Camille Saint-Saëns:
Cello Concerto No. 2 in D minor, Op. 119

At first glance, both the key and the title of Franz Schubert’s Fourth Symphony suggest a comparison with Ludwig van Beethoven’s famous Fifth. With “Tragic,” which is also his first symphony in a minor key, was Schubert striving to emulate his great role model? Recent research suggests a different theory: Perhaps with his Symphony No. 4 the 19-year-old Viennese was attempting to distance himself from Beethoven. This is precisely the approach that conductor Heinz Holliger and the Basel Chamber Orchestra take with their interpretation. Their rendition of the Fourth Symphony, in which they lead Schubert out of Beethoven’s shadow, received high praise from the English magazine Gramophone as one of its best recordings. To top it off, cellist Sol Gabetta, who made a deep impression as a portrait artist in 2014 with her captivating playing, returns to the SHMF once again. She will perform Camille Saint-Saëns’ second cello concerto, which is no less virtuosic and expressive than its sister work.

Ticket price

79 / € 59 / € 39