Sa 27.07.2019 | 20 |Lübeck | Musik- und Kongresshalle, Konzertsaal | K 72

Susanna Mälkki (comes for sick Mariss Jansons)

Susanna Mälkki (comes for sick Mariss Jansons)

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Susanna Mälkki, Conductor

Musik- und Kongresshalle, Konzertsaal Willy-Brandt-Allee 10, Lübeck,

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony no.2 in D major op.36
Dmitry Shostakovich:
Symphony no.5 in D minor op.47

"Tervetuola, Maestra Mälkki" in Finnish means "Welcome, Maestra Mälkki!" The Finnish conductor Susanna Mälkki, chief conductor of the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra and first guest conductor of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, has never been a guest at the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, but she has conducted on all the great and renowned stages of the world. Together with the Symphonieorchester des Bayrischen Rundfunks she is now coming to Northern Germany with a purely symphonic program, with which she ideally presents her versatility and her broad repertoire. Susanna Mälkki is a pioneer: she was the first woman to appear on the conductor's podium at Milan's Scala in 2011 and from 2006 to 2013 was the first chief conductor in the history of the Ensemble Intercontemporain in Paris.
She is now a welcome guest with all major orchestras and opera houses worldwide, regularly conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker, the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and The Cleveland Orchestra, has conducted the BBC Symphony Orchestra at the BBC Proms and can be heard at the Metropolitan Opera New York, Opéra national de Paris and the Vienna State Opera. It was not without reason that the Vienna Konzerthaus named her portrait artist of the 2018/19 season. According to the Konzerthaus, she has the gift of extracting even the most hidden details of orchestral music and making them clearly audible. She herself is interested in curiosity, joy of discovery and gesture, says Mälkki: "A piece of music is not a painting, music happens in time".

Susanna Mälkki stands in for the ill Mariss Jansons.

Ticket price

89 € / 79 € / 69 € / 49 € / 29