About the masterclasses

For more than 30 years, internationally renowned artists and pedagogues have committed themselves to the advanced education of talented students in solistic manner as well as in chamber music. In the course of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, about 150 active participants arrive in Lübeck every summer to be taught by the grand masters of their instruments. Important musicians like David Geringas, Christoph Prégardien or Tabea Zimmermann along with other internationally reputated artists stay in the University of Music Lübeck for some time to pass on their experience and knowledge to the next generation. Major names of the classical world – e.g. Christiane Karg, Vilde Frang, Maxim Vengerov or VOCES8 have visited the Masterclasses at the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival during their own studies. Some of them - as for example Jens Peter Maintz - return as renowned pedagogues.

The University of Music Lübeck, which consists of venerable and listed merchant and citizen’s houses, offers the ideal space for inspiring lessons and a concentrated working atmosphere. Besides perfect conditions for practicing, the participant‘s individual development will be encouraged by complementary workshops. The charming courtyards invite to sit down for pleasant hours after the concerts and offer an open space for artistic exchange.

The Masterclasses at Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival are open to the public. Everyone is invited to join as passive observer and gain insight into the daily musical work. Information concerning teaching times, guest tickets and concert tickets can be inquired at the office in the University of Music. At the end of each class, a concert will take place, where the students present the results of their intense work. The programm arises from the artistic work of the respective course. The concerts take place either in the concert hall at the University of Music or in the course of the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival. 

The personal commitment of private persons and institutions enables the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival to provide a limited number of scholarships for selected students. If you want to support a young musician on his way to an international career, you can do this in the framework of a sponsorship. Please contact us for further information.

The masterclasses are sponsored by the Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck.

Contact

Stiftung Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival
Masterclasses
Einsiedelstraße 6
D-23554 Lübeck
Tel. +49 451-38957-21
Fax +49 451-38957-59
masterclasses[at]shmf.de

Die Masterclasses

Seit mehr als 30 Jahren widmen sich international renommierte Künstler und Pädagogen im Rahmen des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival der solistischen sowie kammermusikalischen Weiterbildung talentierter Studenten. Jeden Sommer kommen etwa 150 aktive Teilnehmende nach Lübeck, um von den Größen ihres Faches unterrichtet zu werden. Bedeutende Künstler wie David Geringas, Christoph Prégardien oder Tabea Zimmermann kommen ebenso wie viele andere Musiker von Weltruf für einige Zeit in die Musikhochschule Lübeck, um ihren Erfahrungsschatz und ihr Wissen an die nächste Generation weiterzugeben. Viele große Namen der Klassik-Szene – etwa Christiane Karg, Vilde Frang, Maxim Vengerov oder VOCES8 – haben während ihrer Ausbildung die Masterclasses des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival besucht. Manche von ihnen, wie z. B. Jens Peter Maintz, kehren inzwischen selbst als renommierte Dozenten zurück. 

Für inspirierenden Unterricht und eine konzentrierte Arbeitsatmosphäre bietet die Musikhochschule Lübeck, bestehend aus altehrwürdigen, denkmalgeschützten Kaufmanns- und Bürgerhäusern, den idealen Raum. Neben optimalen Bedingungen zum Üben wird die persönliche Weiterentwicklung der Teilnehmenden durch ergänzende Workshops gefördert. Die charmanten Innenhöfe laden zu künstlerischem Austausch und schönen Stunden nach den Konzertabenden ein.

Die Masterclasses des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival sind öffentlich. Jeder kann als passiver Gasthörer Einblicke in die tägliche musikalische Arbeit erlangen. Die genauen Unterrichtszeiten der Kurse erfahren Sie zu Beginn im Organisationsbüro in der Musikhochschule, hier können Sie auch Ihre Tickets erwerben. Am Ende jeder Masterclass findet ein Konzert statt, in dem die Studenten die Ergebnisse der intensiven Unterrichtstage präsentieren. Die Programme der Konzerte, die im Großen Saal der Musikhochschule und im Rahmen des Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival stattfinden, ergeben sich dabei kurzfristig aus der Arbeit der Kurse.

Durch das persönliche Engagement von Privatpersonen und Institutionen ist es dem Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival möglich, Stipendien an ausgewählte Studenten zu vergeben. Wenn auch Sie einen jungen Musiker ein Stück auf dem Weg zur großen Karriere begleiten wollen, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, dies im Rahmen einer Patenschaft zu übernehmen. Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie uns gerne.

Die Masterclasses werden großzügig unterstützt durch die Possehl-Stiftung Lübeck.

Kontakt

Stiftung Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival
Masterclasses
Palais Rantzau, Parade 1
23552 Lübeck
Tel. +49 451-38957-21
Fax +49 451-38957-57
masterclasses[at]shmf.de